Community Committee

Flowers Field with the Raleigh skyline in the background

The Dix Park Community Committee is an advisory committee designed to represent the diversity of the community and bring a broad range of experiences and expertise to the Dorothea Dix Park project. This committee provides guidance and recommendation to the Dix Park Leadership Committee on matters related to park development, programming, and engagement.

The purpose of the Community Committee is: 

  • To be a steward of the Master Plan
  • To be a voice of the community and advise the Leadership Committee (made up of City and Conservancy leadership) on the implementation of the Master Plan
  • To be engaged and informed voices of Dorothea Dix Park in the community to support both the City and the Conservancy’s outreach and engagement efforts.  

The management of the Community Committee will be led by the City with the support of the Dix Park Conservancy. The committee meets quarterly, and is composed of 44 community members serving one, two, or three year terms. 

Jacquie Ayala
Sonia Barnes
Danny Bell
Kerry Bird
Ariel Bushel
Walter Cole 
Heather Curtis
Sean Fernandes
Brent Francese
Simone Frank
Andrew Franklin
Jenny Harper
Ebony Haywood 
Myrick Howard
John Johnston
Carly Jones
Aly Khalifa
Bill King
Jai Kumar
Charles Leffler
Lyana Matonti
Stephanie Moss
Nick Neptune
Shana Overdorf
Bill Padgett
John Parker
Dolores Paylor
Charles Phaneuf
Sarah Reeves
Eric Regensburger
Michael Ripley
Carol Rogers
William Ross
Cecilia Saloni
Amy Simes
Taylor Smith
Ashton Smith
Caleb Stephens
Arnurcy Turner
Larry Zucchino

View Community Committee Meeting Agendas and Minutes using the City of Raleigh's paperless system. In BoardDocs, click the icon in the top right corner to select Dix Park Community Committee.

Watch recordings of Community Committee Virtual Meetings on YouTube.

On August 4, 2020, the Leadership Committee approved the establishment the Community Committee.  Read more about the application, review and recommendation process below.

Community Committee Memo